Human Subjects Institutional Review Board (IRB)

In compliance with policies established by the United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), when human beings are used as subjects in research projects, safeguards must be established to protect the health, well-being and rights of the subjects.  The Committee on the Protection of Human Subjects in Research--Human Subjects Institutional Review Board reviews all research proposals involving human subjects.  University policy requires that all research proposals for which data is to be collected from human subjects shall be submitted to this committee to determine whether an exemption applies or whether a review is required.  It is the responsibility of the faculty member to assure compliance with this policy in research conducted by either a student or the faculty member.

Important Documents and Links

Submissions & Deadlines

The Human Subjects Institutional Review Board is accepting applications for approval of research projects for the academic year.  Applications for approval of research projects must be submitted in accordance with the Board's Guidelines for Submission

All IRB applications (Full Review, Expedited Review, Exempt, and resubmissions) are to be submitted to the Office of Sponsored Programs in room 220 in Pod C of the Teacher Education Center .


Submission Deadlines:

Full Review applications should be submitted by the first Friday before noon of each month. Contact the IRB chair if special accommodations are needed. The committee meets in September-November, January-April, and July to vote on full review applications.

Exempt and expedited applications can be submitted any business day of the month.


 IRB Meeting Minutes or Actions Taken:


Board Members 

Dr. Michelle Morris, Chair
Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development



Dr. Vickie Gentry (non-voting)
Dean of Graduate School



Alysia Jones (non-voting)
Office of Sponsored Programs


Dr. Begona Perez-Mira

College of Business and Technology (non-scientist)  


Dr. Terrie Poehl
Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development


Dr. Tanya Karam-Zanders
Gallaspy College of Education and Human Development 


Col. Frank Hall

College of Arts and Sciences (non-scientist)


Dr. Shane Rasmussen
College of Arts and Sciences (non-scientist)


Dr. Keith Dromm
College of Arts and Sciences: Louisiana Scholars' College (non-scientist)


Dr. Donald Johnston
College of Nursing & School of Allied Health


Frances Conine
Dean of Students (non-scientist)


Matthew Whitaker

Student Representative


Kimberly Merchant (IRB unaffiliated member)